Striving for a Sustainable tomorrow with Green Fuels

As a part of celebration of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, MRPL (A subsidiary of ONGC) Mangaluru in association with St Aloysius College (Autonomous) Mangaluru orginesd a  panel discussion on the topic “Striving for a Sustainable tomorrow with Green Fuels” on 19 March 2021 at 11.00 am.

The audience were the students of Post-graduation studies in Chemistry, Applied Chemistry and Physics, Faculty members of Science Departments and officials of MRPL.
Dr Rudolph Noronha, Manager HR formerly welcomed the Panelist, Rev. Dr Praveen Martis SJ -Principal, Dr Alwyn D’Sa- Registrar and other participants from the college, Mr M. Venkatesh MD, MRPL and all MRPL officials.

Mr M. Venkatesh formerly requested to Shri Tarun Kapoor Secretory, P& NG to give his initial remarks. The Panel discussion was initiated by Shri Tarun Kapoor with his insightful initial remarks. Shri Sanjay Varma - Director, Refinery, MRPL moderated the discussions.

There were four panelist Prof. Arun M Isloor-Professor and HOD of Chemistry, NITK Mangalore, Mr Kalbhavi Praksah Rao- Ex-chairman of Mangalore chapter  CII,  Smt. Pomila Jaspal - Director Finance, MRPL, and Mr S. P. Kamath, GGM-Tech services, MRPL.
1.    The topic chosen are Responsible and affordable green energy for sustainable development of Costal Karnataka
2.    Connectivity as a driver towards sustainable development and environment suitability
3.    Role of Ujwala in transformation of society towards sustainable developments
4.    Clean fuel initiatives by MRPL 2G-ethanol and Bio ATF

The panelist through light into the various topics related to their area and were successful in giving an overall idea of the work done by the ministry and Government. The discussions were very useful. The participation by the students in question answer sessions was really motivating to the speakers. The moderator beautifully summarized the synopsis of each topic.

The panel discussion was ended fruitful note on possibilities of green fuels, sustainable tomorrow and initiatives taken by the Petroleum and Natural Gas Ministry, Government of India. The program ended with Vote of thanks by Dr Rudolph Noronha.